Euraba Artists and Papermakers have taken out the 2010 NSW Parliament Aboriginal Art Prize.
The winner of the prize was announced at NSW Parliament House on Wednesday, October 20.

The Euraba artists won with their collaborative work, ˜Gaduu “ Murray cod 2010′, using plant fibre and rag paper and stretching over eight panels.

The collaborative work included artists Thelma Bartman, Leonie Binge, Lola Binge, Michelle Binge, Adrienne Duncan, Alin Duncan, Aunty Joy Duncan, Christine Dumas, Nerida Hinch, Marlena Hinch, Aunty Marlene Hinch, Aunty May Hinch, Garry McGrady, Leah McGrady, Tim McIntosh, Stella O’Halloran, Anita Swan, and Lenice Swan.

The Parliament of New South Wales Aboriginal Art Prize is an annual acquisitive prize of $20,000 sponsored by the New South Wales Parliament and awarded to an Aboriginal visual artist over the age of 18, born in New South Wales and belonging to a New South Wales language group.

The prize is organised by Campbelltown Arts Centre in partnership with New South Wales Parliament. An exhibition of the 2010 finalists is presented in the Fountain Court of New South Wales Parliament House from September 29 to October 27.

The judges of the prize were Dr Romaine Moreton and Daniel Browning.

Dr Moreton is a writer of poetry, prose and film with a PhD in Philosophy from the University of Sydney.

Mr Browning is the presenter of ABC’s Radio National Awaye! Program.

Other Moree Plains finalists in the running were artists Joy Duncan and May Hinch.