The Indigenous Art Code (IartC), the industry code set up to promote integrity, transparency and accountability in dealing with Indigenous art, has announced the appointment of several arts leaders from the Indigenous community to its Board following its annual general meeting.

IartC is in transition to become a majority Indigenous organisation as part of its new direction in seeking to implement a mandatory Indigenous Art Code under federal law, at the helm of John Oster, Chief Executive Officer. The new board members are:

Dr Mark Bin Bakar, a renowned arts leader from Western Australia. Dr Bin Bakar is a descendant of the Kitja people in the Kimberley. He has previously served as Chair of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board at The Australia Council for The Arts and is well known for his community work as the flamboyant character Mary G.

Ms Bindi Cole, artist from Victoria. Ms Cole has an impressive list of exhibitions and awards. In 2012 she exhibited in separate shows in Hong Kong, Bangkok, Taipei, GOMA in Brisbane and at the Melbourne Indigenous Arts Festival.

Ms Maree Clarke MA, artist and curator from Victoria. Ms Clarke is a Mutti Mutti / Yorta Yorta woman from northwest Victoria. She was the Senior Curator and Exhibition Manager at the Koorie Heritage Trust in Melbourne for 10 years.

Mr Glenn Iseger-Pilkington BA, curator from Western Australia. Mr Iseger-Pilkington is a Yamatji / Nyoongar man and currently the Associate Curator Indigenous Objects and Photography at the Art Gallery of Western Australia.

Ms Carly Lane BA (Hons), curator from Western Australia. Ms Lane is a curator, author and arts leader. She was curator of the 2nd National Indigenous Art Triennial 2010 “2011 at the National Gallery of Australia and inaugural curator, publication editor and selection panel member/judge for the prestigious Western Australian Indigenous Art Awards.

Also elected at the annual general meeting was Ms Solenne Ducos-Lamotte (pictured below), Founder and Director of IDAIA – International Development for Australian Indigenous Art. Ms Ducos-Lamotte has over ten years of experience in the international trade and promotion of Australian Indigenous art.

Mr Merkel, Chair of IartC, said, We are proud that Mark Bin Bakar, Bindi Cole, Maree Clarke, Glenn Iseger-Pilkington and Carly Lane have joined the Board. They bring invaluable experience and insights to the Code as we move to the next phase of its development of working with the federal government to implement a prescribed mandatory code under the Competition and Consumer Act (2010). It is critical that the proposed mandatory Code is championed by Indigenous leaders and artists so that there can be a clear Indigenous voice advocating for fair and equitable treatment of Indigenous artists.

Mr Merkel also welcomed the appointment of Ms Ducos-Lamotte. There is a growing representation of overseas galleries and art dealers taking note of the Code and Ms Ducos-Lamotte is well placed to promote a fair go for Indigenous artists in the international marketplace.

The Indigenous Art Code is currently a voluntary code of conduct which establishes clear rules for dealing fairly with Indigenous artists, and is a body which the Aboriginal Art Directory actively promotes.

So far 290 galleries, dealers and artists across Australia have signed up as members or supporters of the Code, which is also backed by State and Federal governments and major public galleries. To see the full list of members and read more about the Indigenous Art Code click here