Fostering the development of artistic talent in Australia, the Wilson HTM National Art Prize is again open for entry.

Emerging Australian artists can now enter online via

Launched in 2007, the Wilson HTM National Art Prize is an acquisitive art award open to emerging Australian based visual artists practicing in any media.

Supported by Wilson HTM Investment Group and managed by cultural development agency Artworkers, the award was devised with the aim to acknowledge the difficulties faced by artists in terms of national and international recognition for achievement; and the difficulties faced in regards to long-term financial stability.

Encouraging entries from all media, the art prize shines a light on the efforts and incredible talents of emerging Australian artists.

The prizes for the 2009 award include an acquisitive *$10, 000 primary prize (a $5000 cash payment and an investment portfolio to the value of $5000), a $1,500 non-acquisitive Highly Commended runners-up prize, and a $1,000 Wilson HTM Encouragement Award.

The winner of the previous primary award was NSW artist Sam Smith for his new media work ˜Street Shift’. ACT artist Kensuke Todo was awarded the 2007 Highly Commended Award for his sculptural work ˜JR Osaka Station’, whilst QLD artist Bianca Beetson was awarded the 2007 People’s Choice Award for her painting ˜Sorry’.

For the 2009 award – up to 12 finalists will be chosen by the judges to feature in an exhibition.
The 2009 winners will be announced at a prizegiving at the launch of the finalist exhibition at Jan Murphy Gallery, Brisbane in 2009.

Entries for the 2009 Wilson HTM National Art Prize close 5pm Friday 28 November 2008.

Entry is $30 for up to 3 works.

For the full terms and conditions and to enter online visit