With works as broad as handmade paper, sculpture, jewellery and paintings, it’s no wonder there were a record number of entries in last year’s NSW Parliament Aboriginal Art Prize. And the winner, Nicole Foreshew, became the first artist to win for a photographic work.

Nicole, whose photographs were projected in enormous proportions (and great effect) onto the Australian Museum during the Hetti Perkins’ produced Corroboree Sydney, is also a recipient of a NSW Aboriginal Arts Fellowship, which will cumulate in an exhibition at the Albury Regional Art Gallery this year.

The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is one of the largest art prizes for Aboriginal artists with a $40,000 prize awarded by an independent panel of experts. It is open to artists born in or living in New South Wales, and offers entrants the opportunity to be considered for a UNSW Faculty of Art & Design Aboriginal Arts Residency Award.

All artists, established or emerging, are encouraged to enter. The finalists’ works will be exhibited at Parliament House throughout October and toured in regional galleries in 2016. The winner will join Nicole Foreshew, Roy Kennedy, Esme Timbery, Danny Eastwood and Karla Dickens – their work becoming part of the permanent collection of the Parliament of NSW.

Entries are open until Friday 31 July 2015.

For more information on eligibility criteria and for full terms and conditions of entry visit Campbelltown Arts Centre or phone 02 4645 4100.

The Parliament of NSW Aboriginal Art Prize is made possible by a partnership between the Parliament, Campbelltown City Council, Arts NSW and the UNSW Faculty of Art & Design.